The Ages


Precisely when one age ended and another began differed depending upon whom you asked, for even among the very wise there was no consensus on this matter. What they did agree on, however, was that each age was divided by a period of war that spanned the world, drawing in all the folk and even the Gods themselves into conflict. These were known as the Miryän Wars, and they lasted for centuries. 

Now, the adventures of Theo Wicklittle took place during the Fourth Age of the Great Earth. Each age had a name given unto it that was derived from the tongues of the Miryä and the Aní. They were: 

  • ​First Age: Itilianiathê (IL) meaning 'first tumult' or 'first storm', when none but the Gods walked the Earth and laboured therein. 

  • Second Age: Diruviuné (DV) meaning 'our bloodied lands', which saw the coming of free folk into the world and their first experiences in warfare. 

  • Third Age: Rénielin (RN) meaning 'great haunting', where the shadow of war lay forever upon the hearts and minds of the free people, and ultimately defined and shaped their destiny.

  • Fourth Age: Auriel (AR) meaning simply 'to linger', for the Enemy was never fully purged from the world after the last great war, or from the hearts of the people. 


The Calendar of Men

The calendar’s origins were rooted in the seasons of the year, with the coming of summer considered the beginning of the New Year. At that time the daylight hours were longest, and the people believed that their god, Arranen the Maker, had once again led them through the darkness after being victorious over the shadows of evil, and so they celebrated. 

The coming of the fall signalled the beginning of the harvests in order to prepare for the onset of winter when daylight was shortest and filled with cold. It was said that during those times the Great Evil once again rose to challenge the Light of the Lord, bringing about death and decay to the world. The stars were more prevalent during the nights of winter and were revered as the residual power of the Lord. Sailors held the stars in great reverence and used them to find their way through the night when at sea. The defeat of winter then saw life return to the land. The first crops were sewn and new harvests began. People would prepare for the coming of the New Year. Thus the cycle continued.

The calendar was divided into twelve months, three for each of season. They were:

  • Summer: Auinel or Year's Dawn, Arraber or High Sun, and Summer Vale.

  • Fall: Auifallen, Harvest and Yield.

  • Winter: Yuné or Sea of Stars, Isonber or Winter's Deep, and Winter Vale.

  • Spring: Rénber or Renewal, Maé or Bloom, and Yvurnel or Year's End.


Timeline of Events

The following table provides a list of the events that occurred during the journey of Theo Wicklittle listed in chronological order. As more content is added expect to see more added to this table. 

© 2019 Wargo